2017 Fall Tour Recap

What a tour! The #AllergyRoadTrip tour is done. 50 shows in 30 days…

I love doing tour recaps after the dust settles, because it’s great to reflect on such an incredibly busy time, and finally let all of the special moments sink in.

When I’m on tour, every day feels like a marathon. Early morning drives, performances (sometimes 4 x day), more driving, finding safe dinner, then checking into new accommodation. People ask me where I will be tomorrow, and it’s common for me to stare blankly back at them and respond “I’m not there yet!”. It’s not that I don’t have a plan (I meticulously plan every route and detail ahead of time), it’s just too overwhelming to think beyond the next few hours! I simply hop into my car and follow along the plan I weeks earlier I inputted into my GPS.

Thanksgiving Rock!

Thanksgiving Jams!

There’s something very freeing about going on tour. I check-out of all of my other work commitments so I can truly focus and immerse myself with performances. When I’m off stage, I simply enjoy soaking up the moments, the new people, and places that I just may never encounter again. I feel so lucky and try hard at not taking any of it for granted!

My fall 2017 tour started the best way possible – with a big ol’ family Thanksgiving in Canada with my relatives. Gobble gobble! I then had a few shows around Toronto and my hometown of Kingston, ON. Thankfully, the new material/songs that I worked hard on during my “offseason” went over well.

AAFA Concert

Yeehaw! Cowboy Kyle rockin’ a Halloween themed AAFA concert in New England.

Then it was time to head down to the U.S! I always get excited to cross the border – it never gets old for me. Especially after all of the work in applying for a temporary U.S. work visa, there’s a sense of anticipation after the long paperwork process. The drive over the thousand Islands and down through Northern New York is stunning.

IMG_1306

Raising food allergy awareness on the news in West Virginia!

Many of the weeks I spent cross-crossing the same highways from New York, to Boston, to Long Island, to New Jersey, back to Boston….and repeat! My tour manager (aka me!) does not deserve a raise! I have some amazing friends that I got to see along the way, with special highlights including Sleepy Hollow, NY around Halloween, a bonfire in Boston, lounging in Maryland, Mexican lunch in West Virginia, and a super fun soccer shoot-out in PA! All of these folks all know who they are and hopefully know how much I feel eternally grateful to them! Dinners, coffees, hanging out, shooting hoops with good people make the days extra special.


There was one week that I veered away from the north east and headed over to IMG_1477Pittsburgh, down to West Virginia and all the way down to Charlotte, NC! I had a very special show at the FARE Charlotte Walk where I was accompanied by a band of inspiring young people who I once performed for years and years ago. Check out our live version of “Paint my Pumpkin Teal”.

I missed my little one back home and fully realize that being away 4 weeks is my limit. Even that is tough…it seemed manageable compared to the 5.5 weeks away in May.

Home from TouringOnce I got home, she came running with a HUGE smile and look of almost disbelief!  The moment instantly made me feel at home. It’s a random life our family lives, but it’s one that works and gives us neat opportunities, amazing friendships and a lifetime of memories. Hopefully the next tour will be with the whole fam! My daughter is starting to dig the harmonica…the next Partridge family perhaps?

I’ll do it all over again during the next tour in California this February! Get in touch for details and availability.

Leave a Reply

