“Food Allergies Rock!” – An Explanation

Food-Allergies-Rock-Logo3

The song and motto “Food Allergies Rock” is one that I get questioned on frequently, leaving people often scratching their heads. Fair enough! It’s an odd statement!

However, I urge you to read this full blog post to see why I’m not crazy for saying “Food Allergies Rock”.

To completely contradict myself, let me start by saying that food allergies do not rock in the literal sense. We know what anaphylaxis is, what it can do, and how scary everything associated with it can be. No one signed up for food allergies, and given the opportunity, no one would. Who would want a relationship status with food that can be best described as “It’s Complicated”??

In my 30+ years of living with multiple food allergies (peanut, tree nut, egg, seafood and mustard), I’ve had a lot of low points and scary close calls. Some days I curse my allergies. Truth be told, I curse my asthma much more.

At the end of the day, I am an individual living with a severe but manageable health condition. I believe how I view my own allergies affects my own quality of life, and the perception other people have of me.

  • Do I want to feel and be viewed as a victim? No.
  • Do I want to feel and be viewed as someone living in constant fear? No.
  • Do I want to feel that life is always unfair and be viewed as someone who lives under a dark cloud? No.
  • Do I want to feel like a confident and normal person who is never slowed down by their food allergies? Absolutely.

I wrote “Food Allergies Rock” to flip my own perspective on my condition. If I can “rock” my food allergies, I will be more confident and empowered to stay safe. I choose not to let food allergies define me. I stay positive while staying safe. I read labels, carry epinephrine, ask the right questions at restaurants and more. I got this.

I know “Food Allergies Rock” a line that might be hard to grasp. But as someone who has the condition, this perception/self-talk/attitude has actually made me less of a risk-taker, and improved my overall quality of life. To me, that rocks!

With all of the other severe and unmanageable health conditions out there, I feel somewhat fortunate to have only food allergies. I’ve learned how to live with them, travel with them, the precautions needed, the ways to deal with frustrations, and how to rise above them to live live life to the fullest. If reading this makes you think, “wow, he really rocks his food allergies”, then you now know the power that a little catchphrase can have on the psyche.

I hope you and your kids can rock your food allergies too!

3 thoughts on ““Food Allergies Rock!” – An Explanation

  1. I love this! If this song existed when I was a kid my brother and I (both with tons of allergies) would have listened to and sung it all the time. My mom probably would have played it constantly. Your lyrics touch on all the main points my parents used to reiterate to us and the thoughts you internalize and repeat to yourself as a person with allergies. I especially like the part about “they don’t define me” and that they make you look creative in the kitchen. Well done 🙂

  2. Great attitude! And I totally agree. When I found out I had celiac disease my exploration of different foods began. Indian food, Thai food, things I had never tried before but that could offer me the safety I needed to eat out. In fact, I’m about to have a wonderful green Thai curry for supper tonight – my favorite, thanks to finding out I had a gluten allergy many years ago.

  3. Kyle, is it okay, though, that I mentally sing “Food allergies SUCK!” as I be-bop through my day as a food allergy mom, doing all of the 10 bazillion extra things I have to do to feed my kid & keep him safe? No pity party for me or my kid – “Food allergies SUCK” is our “We’re Not Gonna Take It” (by Twisted Sister) “in your face” kind of anthem.
    I totally get & respect what you’re saying here, and very much appreciate your mission & career. I just want to thank you, as a parent of a food allergic kid, for giving me this little private venting opportunity whenever your song comes to mind. Or when we, y’know, look at our annual budget and see that the food bill rivals the mortgage. 😦

Leave a Reply

