Food Allergy Bloggers Conference Recap

I was so unbelievably thrilled to be able to attend the Food Allergy Bloggers Conference (#FABlogCon) in Las Vegas last weekend.

I admit….I am not the best allergy blogger as I think I average one post a month! However, you know my main mission is to spread awareness through music, and I loved having the opportunity to meet and network with so many incredible bloggers, advocates, companies and more at this conference.

I was lucky to attend on behalf of Anaphylaxis Canada who was one of the conference sponsors. They have two great blogs that I highly recommend you subscribe to for their unique content:

1) Allergy Free Press – Blog written by teenagers with food allergies (www.allergyfreepress.com)

2) Adults with Allergies – Blog written by allergic adults – you guessed it! (www.adultswithallergies.com)

I also moderated a panel on food allergies and intimacy which I thought went over very well. I work a lot with allergic teens, and pulled together some first-hand accounts from teens and their thoughts on the topic. There were many perspectives on the panel that helped create a really unique session.

I don’t even know where to start on describing how amazing this conference was. It was truly one of, if not the best conference I’ve ever attended. So many amazing topics were discussed, the food was unbelievable, and the organization by Jenny Mitchell Sprague and Homa Woodrum was top-notch. I see this conference getting bigger and bigger every year.

I loved meeting all of these amazing people face to face after years of collaborating online. I also met some new people doing some very creative things in the allergy world that I was happy to connect with. One of the most fun moments of the conference for me was the after-party on the first night. I decided to bring my guitar along with me, which then turned into a long night of singing and having fun.

I came out of this conference with so much more knowledge, connections, and friends. I can only hope to attend again next year and hope to see you there!

With my good friend Caroline Moassessi  from http://www.gratefulfoodie.com/

With my good friend Caroline Moassessi from http://www.gratefulfoodie.com/

One hilarious quote I saw this week "Only Kyle Dine can pull off a puppet at a cocktail party!"

One hilarious quote I saw this week “Only Kyle Dine can pull off a puppet at a cocktail party!”

Anaphylaxis Canada's table (more info at www.anaphylaxis.ca)

Anaphylaxis Canada’s table (more info at http://www.anaphylaxis.ca)

Getting to meet Jerome Bettis was an absolute thrill! He was my childhood idol - I'm a huge Steelers fan!

Getting to meet Jerome Bettis was an absolute thrill! He was my childhood idol – I’m a huge Steelers fan!

10670258_10205082943738998_2061738473896899312_n

Having fun at the after party!

 

Leave a Reply

