Sabrina’s Song

Sabrina Shannon Song

I wrote a song for Sabrina Shannon a few years ago in true appreciation of her legacy, and the work of her mother, Sara Shannon who is a tireless allergy advocate.

I couldn’t stop thinking about her this week as it was the 10th anniversary of her tragic death. While driving down the beautiful Oregon coast, I had the sudden urge to jump out of my car and record “Sabrina’s Song”. I hope it inspires us all to keep advocating – every effort truly makes a difference.

Video – http://youtu.be/iNhPlGcT99k

Lyrics to Sabrina’s Song

Can we stand here today, and look the other way?
When the old world is changing, she’s in our lives today.

I can feel it all around me, everywhere I see the signs,
The future is looking brighter, every day at a time

Change has got a hold of me, I can help, it makes me believe
That one girl, one life, one dream
Can make you and I feel safe at night, Sabrina.

Every change has got its purpose, to open up our eyes
And bring some understanding, to all of us alike
But it has to start somewhere, like a sparkle in your eye
Shining on forever, like a star up in the sky

Change has got a hold of me, I can help, it makes me believe
That one girl, one life, one dream
Can make you and I feel safe at night, Sabrina.

When you know things just aren’t right
You know it’s time to join the fight
And bring us one step closer to the cure
But a little this, and a little that
And we’re on our way to a brighter path
A path that no one has gone before
A path to guide the way.

Change has got a hold of me, I can help, it makes me believe
That one girl, one life, one dream
Can make you and I feel safe at night, Sabrina.

Leave a Reply

