Song Stories “Epi-Man”

The original "EpiMan" and "EpiMan Jr."

The original “Epi-Man” and “Epi-Man Jr.”

Do you ever browse the Internet with some type of purpose, but then find something else and completely forget about what you were initially looking for? I remember doing research for my company www.allergytranslation.com when I stumbled upon a picture of two boys dressed up as super heros. Little did I know that after reading their incredible story my life would be changed forever…

Let me backtrack.

I had written one allergy song while working at summer camp, “That’s a Peanut”, that started my journey of writing ditties about food allergies. I never expected that song to leave the summertime campfires. At this time I wasn’t planning a CD, a tour, let alone a live performance for a group of non-campers! I figured it was just a one-off song in my repertoire.

Once the camp flag was lowered and we all went home, I started working away at launching my own business. I was following the steps I learned in business school and conducting  market research to complete my business plan. I surfed the net browsing websites when one link jumped out at me. It was for a website titled “Epi-Man“. Intrigued, I clicked on.

Epi-Man? What an awesome name for a character! I wondered what genius thought of this epinephrine slinging super hero! I read on to find that it was in fact a 6-year old boy and his 4-year old brother. Wait, what!? Here were two allergic children with a very long list of allergies who had made their food allergies into something positive – and fun! Their homemade costumes were brilliant, and their “super poses” were just awesome. These were truly two kids that didn’t let their allergies slow them down. I was also amazed that they helped get Sabrina’s Law passed in Ontario by advocating on Parliament Hill in their costumes!

Feeling immediately inspired, I picked up my guitar and started strumming while singing “Epi-Man….Epi-Man……” and then out popped the rest of the chorus: “A dose of epinephrine carries in his hand”. The rest of the song practically wrote itself in the span of 20 minutes. I recorded a quick demo and sent it to their mom Karen via the email address I found on the website. Within 10 minutes I received a response from her that she loved the song and wanted to chat on the phone! We had a great phone call that night and she planted the idea in my head to actually record the EpiMan song and more! AND THAT was when the idea was planted to create a CD of music about food allergies. Karen’s support group in Ottawa soon after hosted my very first public concert. I owe her and her group so much gratitude.

Kyle's zany puppets are always a crowd favourite

Kyle’s zany puppets are always a crowd favourite

Looking back I find it incredible that I had to encounter a character created by allergic children before I truly became empowered to use my own voice to educating about allergies through music.

Since then, I continually have children tell me that Epi-Man is their favourite song. I have also had two puppets (Epi-Man and Epi-Man Jr.) made that accompany me at every performance.

But the best part, is that every now and then I show up at a performance and there is a child dressed up in their very own homemade Epi-Man costume. I also receive lots of costume pictures every Halloween! To me this is amazing as the character that these boys have created has become timeless. It is a character for allergic children to call their own and brings with it a sense of empowerment every time you put an “E” on your chest, a cape on your back, and of course… your underpants on top of your pants!

I encourage you to learn more about the great story behind Epi-Man and Epi-Man Jr. on their website: http://www.epi-man.com/

Lyrics to “Epi-Man”

Kyle testing EpiMan's true strength

Kyle testing Epi-Man’s true strength

Looking for someone to save the day,
Looking for someone with super strength,
And if I eat something that I shouldn’t have
There’s a man in a cape who will fly in,
Food Allergies do not phase him.

Epi-Man, Epi-Man.
A dose of epinephrine carries in his hand,
And Epi-Man doesn’t need gratitude,
Just be careful when you eat your food,
Or Epi-Man, will save the day.

If you have a reaction on a ferris wheel ride,
Your hero will come and by his side,
Is Epi-Man Jr. His trusty sidekick,
Together they’ll save the day,
Fighting so you’ll be o.k.

Epi-Man, Epi-Man.
A dose of epinephrine carries in his hand,
And EpiMan doesn’t need gratitude,
Just be careful when you eat your food,
Or Epi-Man, will save the day.

In his Epi-Jet, they fly all over the world,
Just to save every allergic boy and girl.

Epi-Man, Epi-Man.
A dose of epinephrine carries in his hand,
And Epi-Man doesn’t need gratitude,
Just be careful when you eat your food,
Or Epi-Man, will save the day.

Leave a Reply

