What Christmas Means to me

I wrote my first Christmas song last year and gave it to my friend’s sister who has a beautiful voice. She was a star in the Sound of Music in Toronto and I wanted to write a song that could showcase her voice as well as portray my tue feelings about Christmas. It’s called “Porcelain Christmas” with a message that all you need is family to makes the perfect Christmas – just like those little picture perfect porcelain Christmas sets that you see on the shopping network 🙂

I am a total sap for Christmas. I absolutely love it and always have. It’s the one time of year that I get to spend quality time with my whole family. I love everything Christmas (even chestnuts roasting over an open fire which I found out I can eat!). I enjoy catching up with cousins, I crave Christmas music, I have no shut off switch when it comes to candy canes, and I host an annual Christmas party with an open door to my friends. I am a huge fan of winter and Christmas is just the cherry on top.

However, this Christmas will be a tough one as I lost my grandfather (Poppa) this spring. He meant a great deal to me and has greatly influenced who I am. He loved Christmas too and it’s hard to imagine a Christmas where he doesn’t open his “annual gifts” like AA batteries or his newspaper subscription and then act like a young-at-heart kid by grabbing random props when in photos and injecting his endless humour at the Christmas table.

Last year at Christmas he was very ill and in the intensive care unit at the hospital. We knew that he couldn’t come out for Christmas, so my family decided to bring Christmas to him. My mom and I went Christmas Eve and I brought my guitar with me. I pleaded with the nurse to let me bring it inside his room as it was an “isolation” room which required a gown, mask and a sterile environment.

I put on a Christmas concert for my Poppa. He loved all of the traditional and religious songs so I played “Little Town of Bethlehem”, “Away in a Manger”, “First Noel” and he even requested “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer”. However, the one moment that will last with me forever was when I played my song – “Porcelain Christmas”. It was hard enough playing guitar with latex gloves on my hands and singing through a stuffy mask, however it was next to impossible to keep my emotions in check as I knew this might be the last song I ever sing for my Poppa.

By the end of the song I was a mess with a tear soaked mask over my face. My Poppa truly enjoyed his private Christmas concert in the ICU, but it was a real tough night for my mom and I.

As hard as it is to lose loved ones, it’s truly amazing the gifts that they leave behind. I am thankful for the wisdom my Poppa gave to me and his perspective on life. I am also thankful that I will always have a very special Christmas song that reminds me of him and the importance of my family.

I hope you enjoy the song. Anwyn Musico does an incredible job singing it. I may record a version of my own someday, but I’m sure you understand that it’s just a bit too soon for me right now.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and happy holidays. Be sure to enjoy every single moment with your family.

Your friend,
Kyle

 

 

2 thoughts on “What Christmas Means to me

  1. Thank you for this, I usually keep up on your food allergy comments on facebook, but I’m so glad I read this. I lost my grandfather just before last Christmas, and my grandmother at the end of January– last Christmas, caring for her was at least a little distracting, but it’s been a tough season this year without either of them. I’m so sorry for your loss, but appreciate your sharing it– hoping this year brings comfort and healing for you! It’s a beautiful song!!

Leave a Reply

